KPR's New Board of Directors & Communications Team

Updated: May 18

On May 12, 2021. Brian Huynh, Editor-in-Chief finalized a series of appointments and role changes to the Kroeger Policy Review's (KPR) Board of Directors.


"These appointments grow KPR's Board of Directors to ensure the Board is equipped to handle our organizational change goals over the summer and to manage a successful fall and summer." said Brian Huynh. "The introduction of these new Directors, as well as our new Communications Team, allows for more input from a greater number of voices which will only strengthen our organization. I also sincerely thank Matthew Winter and SAhana Kapur for the incredible work they did as Directors and, on behalf of KPR, I wish them success in their future endeavours."


The Board of Directors is responsible for assisting the Editor-in-Chief in the administration of non-editorial matters. The Board of Directors, and the Communications Team are described below.


Brian Huynh, Editor-in-Chief

4th Year - BPAPM


On March 26, 2021, KPR's co-founder and founding Editor-in-Chief was unanimously acclaimed to resume his leadership until April 30, 2022. In his role, he will continue to develop strategies to grow and expand KPR.


"I want to thank all members of KPR for instilling their trust in my leadership. KPR has grown exponentially since our start in September 2020. I will continue to make KPR a rewarding experience for all of our members."


Tana Cheema, Chair of the Board of Directors; Internal Ombud

4th Year - BPAPM


Tana will be responsible for overall coordination of the Board and ensuring that KPR continues to adhere to our belief in equity, inclusivity, diversity and accountability.


“I’m absolutely thrilled to be returning to the Board for a second year. I’m in awe of how our organization has gone from a small board of five people to this amazing team we have today. I look forward to working with each of you and watching KPR continue to grow and change.”


Amy Hinchey, Director of Communications 4th Year - BGInS


Amy will continue serving as our Director of Communications and will also serve as the Director of KPR's new Communications Team.


“I’m incredibly excited to be on the Board for another year working on communications projects with KPR! Watching the Review grow from a few individuals with an idea to the comprehensive publication it is today has been really inspiring. We have a fantastic team this year and I know each and every Director will do great things for the organization!”


Anthony Valenti, Director of Internal & Stakeholder Relations 2nd Year - BGInS


Anthony will be responsible for promoting organizational cohesion, especially during the pandemic, and liaising with KPR's external stakeholders.


"I am very excited to be given the opportunity to serve on the Board for a second consecutive year. As Director, I hope to work with my colleagues and foster a true team environment within KPR, while advancing our presence."


Spyros Papoulias, Director of Finance 2nd Year - BPAPM


Spyros will be responsible for KPR's financial management and the development of KPR's annual budget.


"I am ecstatic to be a KPR Director! I want to thank the Kroeger Policy Review team for this opportunity. I look forward to contributing to the Board and being a part of a team that enables students to publish thoughtful, impactful, and important content on policy."


Lindsey Keene

Charlotte Mackenzie, Director of Media & Marketing 2nd Year - BPAPM


Charlotte will be responsible for KPR's corporate communications and will serve as Deputy Director of KPR's new Communications Team.


After working as a writer for KPR during its inaugural year, I am so excited to join the Board. Being a part of an organization that seeks to inform and educate my peers on ongoing pressing societal issues is a special opportunity. I am looking forward to helping grow the organization and collaborate with all members of the KPR team!”


Kroeger Policy Review Board of Directors as of May 12, 2022:


Brian Huynh, is re-elected as Editor-in-Chief until April 30, 2022.

Tana Cheema, is re-assigned to the role of Chair of the Board of Directors and Internal Ombud effective April 24, 2021.

Amy Hinchey, remains the director of Director of Communications.

Anthony Valenti, is re-assigned to the role of Director of Internal & Stakeholder Relations effective April 24, 2021.

Charlotte Mackenzie, is appointed to the role of Director of Media & Marketing effective April 24, 2021.

Spyros Papoulias, is appointed to the role of Director of Finance / Chief Financial Officer effective May 10, 2021.


KPR COMMUNICATIONS TEAM


In order to support the work of KPR's Director of Communications and to increase KPR's innovation in both our inward and outward facing communications, the Editor-in-Chief has established a Communications Team within KPR . The team will be led by Director of Communications, Amy Hinchey, and will work to manage all of KPR's communication activities.


“It’s a pleasure to be working with such a wonderful team on Communications projects this year for KPR" Amy said. "I look forward to assisting my deputy and managers with streamlining our communications endeavours, and expanding our social media presence over the next year to showcase the fantastic work of our writers and editors.”


Alexander Stoney

Amy Hinchey, Director of Communications 4th Year - BGInS


Amy is the Director of the Communications Team. She will oversee KPR's internal and external communications.










Jesse Hsieh

Charlotte Mackenzie, Director of Media & Marketing 2nd Year - BGInS


Charlotte is the Deputy Director of the Communications Team. She will also oversee KPR's corporate communications.










Alexander Stoney

Chanel Best, Newsletter Manager 4th Year - BGInS


Chanel will be responsible for leading KPR's foray into email newsletters. She will play a large role in redeveloping KPR's visual style.


"I am excited to take on more of a leadership role with KPR, the communications team is the right fit for me because of my existing skills. I am also excited to learn new things in this position!”





Jesse Hsieh

Sarah Siu, Social Media Manager 4th Year - BPAPM


Sarah will be responsible for overseeing KPR's social media presence and she will be leading our entrance into video-based social media, like Tik Tok and Instagram Reels.


“Since joining KPR’s communications team as Social Media Manager, I’ve found that it has been a really great experience thus far. This has given me the chance to build on my communications and social media skills through a platform that I find enjoyable. I am very excited to work with my team members and the whole KPR team in this upcoming school year, and hope that it will bring great things.”


###